Monday, 22 April 2013

Copper Mines: Strike It Rich

If I was brave enough to keep copper cladding shiny and never let it oxidise and go green, I would choose it for my home... Or perhaps I could go with the flow and buy Fujistubo in Omotesando, Tokyo – a beauty parlour with a triple-pitch roof designed in 2009 by the Japanese architects Yoshihiro Hirotani and Yusaku Ishida from Archivision. The building is completely clad in a shingle pattern of copper sheets and would be turning a lovely aquamarine by now.
If it was mine, I could grow gracefully old with it, my skin tone changing from a youthful pink to a contented sage yellow. Nuture nature, I say.

1. Tom Dixon hanging pendant in Dutch magazine VT Wonen ; via vtwonen.nl 
2. The ‘Fujitsubo’ building is a Japanese beauty parlour in Omotesando, Tokyo, designed by Japanese architects Yoshihiro Hirotani + Yusaku Ishida for Archivision Hirotani Studio; www.archivision-hs.co.jp
3. David Derksen copper pendents lights; via davidderksen.nl
4. Copper tray, bowl and candle holders by Strek Collective; via strekcollective.com
5. Copper bike from Van Heesch Design; via vanheeschdesign.com 
6. Tall copper cabinet; via davidderksen.nl
7. Exposed copper pipes double as a storage rack in this interior still for VT Wonen magazine photographed by Jeroen van der Spek; via jeroenvanderspek.com

 
Left: Custom Cut copper La Leaf tiles designed by Regina Bilotta 
The “La Leaf” collection of gold, silver and copper leaf tile; via cultivate.com 
Centre: Dark blue and copper interior shot by Jake Curtis; for UK House and Garden magazine; 
via houseandgarden.co.uk Right: via aperfectgray.com blogspot



Tuesday, 16 April 2013

Pretty Pastels: A Soft Touch

If my life was as sugar-coated as the pretty pastel trend so popular now, I would surely live like a princess. In my croche-em-bouche castle dedicated to sweet modernism, the furniture, fabrics, walls and floors would look so chic in mint and lilac, pink and lemon.

1. Pastels and ice cream colours shoot styled by Charlotte Lovey and photographed by Jonathan Gooch; via charlottelovey.blogspot.co.uk
2. The work of stylish Sophie Brown; via sarahkaye.com
3. This pastel themed home appeared in style magazine Maison & Demeure and was photographed by John Cullen; via maisonetdemeure.com
4. Pastel floral prints in this delicate living room composition in Elle Decor; via elledecor.com
5. Watercolour mural wallpaper; via elledecor.com
6. Pastel objects photographed by Floor Knaapen for Dutch design magazine eigen huis & interieur; via floorknaapen.com and eh-i.nl
7. Pastel trends in kid’s room for Swedish magazine Plaza Interiƶr with stylist Linda Ahman and photographer Therese Winberg; via plazainterior.se

Mary Katrantzou designs; via marykatrantzou.com


Sunday, 7 April 2013

White Marble: A Rock Star

If we didn’t love white marble so much, it would only be found in the classical architecture and sculpture of the ancients. Fortunately for us, modern day designers love this stone, too, and are forever finding new ways to use it. Sit on it, bathe in it, eat off it – marble is a cool trend in interior design for 2013.

1. The unlikely pairing of cheap ply and expensive marble in this kitchen works because of the light grain pattern inherent in both materials; via emmas.blogg.se
2. This wingback chair is called ‘Louis XV Goes To Sparta’. It is the creation of Maurizio Galante and Tal Lancman. The marble-patterned cover is printed on silk and viscose material; via maurizio-galante.com
3. This stark marble bathroom is in the loft of New York textile designer Michael Maharam; via maharam.com.Vogue Living May/June 2011. Photograph by Dean Kaufman; via deankaufman.com
4. Screenshots from Kenzo’s ‘Marble Punch’ video for Fall 2012; via thomastraum.com or kenzo.com
5. Bethan Gray’s Carve tables created with furniture developer Thomas Turner under the G&T brand; via grayandturner.com
6. Marble wallpaper by ferm-living; via ferm-living.com
7. More marble wallpaper; via www.mrperswall.com
Alexander Wang’s first collection for Balenciaga, Fall/Winter 2013; via balenciaga.com